Southern Blackberry Cobbler in a Cast Iron

 

I can’t believe its the end of January already and this new year is off to a great start.  I have started doing more of what I love, which if you haven’t guessed yet its cooking and eating and hanging out with some old friends, one of which is the reason I have a post for tonight, its my friend’s brother’s birthday and I had promised him a long time ago that I would make him blackberry cobbler when either they were in season or they were on sale, and he got lucky that they went on sale the week of his birthday so I was able to sneak off from my job to HEB and stock up. Finally the weekend came along and I got to the task of making two cobblers one for dessert at my house and one just for him to share or not. 🙂 The Southern Blackberry Cobbler recipe I got is not originally mine, being Mexican its not a typical dessert, so I had to tweak it a bit so it would fit the picky eaters in my house. (if you want to follow it step by step, just click on the hyperlink) Pretty much the ingredients are the same the quantities are what vary.

Ingredients:

(For the Crust)

  •  2 Cups All Purpose Flour
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 1Tbsp Sugar
  • 12 Tbsp / 1 1/2 Stick Butter
  • 1/2 Cup Ice Cold Water

(For the Filling)

  • 4-5 Cups Blackberries, Cleaned
  • 1 1/2 Cups Sugar
  • 4 1/2 Tbsp Butter
  • 1 1/4 Cup Water
  • 1Tsp Cornstarch as Needed

 

Instructions:

(For the Crust)

  1. Chill your bowl and pastry cutter in the freezer while you cut up your butter into small cubes. Once cut place in freezer, it is important to keep your ingredients as cold as possible. (I chill mine for a while and constantly because my hands tend to run very warm and they will melt everything)
  2. Once removed from freezer add your flour, salt and sugar and mix well with cutter, add your butter and begin to cut in until you have pea sized balls of butter and flour. At this time begin to slowly add your water, make sure it is ice cold. You may or may not use all of it, add and cut just until it holds together in a ball. (you can do this by hand if you want while constantly chilling in throughout the process but again my hands run very warm.
  3. When you can make it into a ball, cut in half and form into 2 disks you can leave one a little bigger because one is for the crust and the other will be for dumplings. Chill in freezer or refrigerator, if I have time I will let it chill in the refrigerator for 30 min to an hour but if I am in a big hurry popping it in the freezer for about 10 min works as well.
IMG_3037
Rolling out my dumpling dough

(For the Filling)

While your dough is chilling you can go ahead and start making your amazing cobbler filling.

  1. In a heavy bottomed pan, or in this case I used my cast iron skillet Alfredo got me for Christmas, add 3 cups of blackberries, 1 cup of water, the butter and sugar.
  2. Put on stove at medium heat and bring to a boil. The sauce should start to thicken. If you see that it is too thick gradually add the remaining 1/4 cup of water, but if you see that it is getting too runny gradually add 1 tsp of cornstarch while stirring and bring to a boil.
  3. While your filling is thickening up grab your smallest disk and roll out to about 1/4-in thick and cut 1/2-in by 1/2-in pieces, these are your dumplings. Of course if you want you can leave these out. Add to your boiling mixture and stir in allow to boil for a minute or two so the dough can cook through.
  4. Once thoroughly cooked add the remaining blackberries to your mixture and allow to cool before you start rolling out your crust. In the meantime pre-heat your oven to 475 degrees. If you are not making it in a skillet or a pan you are willing to put in the oven, this would be a great time to transfer onto a dish that you would like to use. I have an amazing casserole dish that would have worked for this recipe.
  5. Roll out your remaining disk about 1/4 in thick, remember to flour and turn constantly so it doesn’t stick. Use a heavy even rolling pin, I made one out of pvc pipe because I found out it works great with pretty much anything and allows you to put even pressure throughout the rolling process. And go crazy with it. You can do a lattice pattern or do a full crust I decided to do a bit of a funky design and show my TX pride with a cookie cutter I got Alfredo a while back, she loves the shape of TX.
  6. When your pie is covered brush all the crust with milk or do an egg wash and sprinkle with sugar. If you have turbinado sugar it works the best. IMG_3041
  7. Pop in the oven at 475 degrees for 25-30 min or until crust is browned. Let cool for about 30 min and serve still warm with vanilla ice cream (yummy BlueBell) 🙂

While this was my first adventure with this kind of recipe I was able to make two and tweak them as I went. I will be delivering the birthday cobbler tomorrow will let you know any reviews I get.

 

This will be my last TX recipe for a while since I will be making the trip to visit the other half of this amazing blog. The next post will be from the both of us from her home in South Carolina, and I cannot wait to cook with her again…Until next time 🙂

 

-S

 

P.s. Please excuse some of the crappy cell phone pictures I am working on getting a camera to take better pics that will do the recipe justice.

Leave a Reply

