Kolaches! YUM!

Hey everybody its been a while and I am terribly sorry, on my part the holidays were hectic and I have just started a new job and have been getting ready to take my mini-vacation visiting Julia. Yay! (happy dance) I’ve been super busy and have not really had a chance to cook anything other than my super lazy go-to meals but this weekend I promised Alfredo I would make her bacon and cheese kolaches (her favorite) and so I did. The plan was to wake up super early and have them ready for breakfast but….I overslept, typical for me on the weekends when I’m not planning on running and also I reasoned that my kitchen would be too cold for my dough to rise. So you will have to forgive this recipe because I have adapted multiple recipes to create what I call the most perfect bacon and sausage kolaches.

 

IMG_3026

 

Kolache Dough

Ingredients:

  • 2 Envelopes of Active Dry Yeast (or 4 1/2 tsp if you buy the jar)
  • 1/4 Luke Warm Water (for dissolving yeast)
  • 2 Tbsp Sugar
  • 1 Cup Milk
  • 4 Tbsp Butter
  • 2 Tsp  Salt
  • 2 Egg Yolks + Half of an Egg-White, Beaten(you can do this with just the yolks but the whites help out a lot)
  • 3 1/2 – 6 Cups All Purpose Flour ( I will explain the discrepancy below)
  • 1 Pkg Bacon/Cocktail Weenies
  • 1 16 oz Cheddar block grated or Kraft 16 Singles
  • 1 Egg + 1 Tbsp Milk for Coating your Kolaches and Making them Look Pretty and Shiny

 

Instructions:

  1. In a small bowl, mix the yeast and water until dissolved. Be sure the water is between 110 and 115 degrees Fahrenheit, add 1 Tbsp of sugar and let stand for 5 minutes.IMG_3016
  2. In a small super hot sauce pan heat the milk until scalded. Remove from heat and add in butter, salt and remaining Tbsp of sugar (this is optional, my peeps prefer a sweeter kolache bun) Allow to cool for about 5 minutes and add your eggs.IMG_3013IMG_3014
  1. Combine both milk and yeast mixture in the bowl of your stand mixer (funny story about my mixer, other than I love it I have abused it so much every time I have to use it I pray it doesn’t quit on me…granted I have accidentally dropped it from the counter maybe twice or at least that’s all I’m willing to admit, in my defense I have limited work space.)Stir your mixture well.IMG_3017
  2. Using the hook attachment add your flour slowly, here is where the big discrepancy comes in, start by slowly adding your flour 1 cup at a time usually it takes no less than 3 but definitely no more than 6. Your dough should hold together but still be a bit sticky. Once it gets to this point pour out onto your floured work surface and knead until smooth and elastic. (unfortunately for me this did not happen this time but I still ended up with some pretty good kolaches)IMG_3022
  3. Put your dough in a well greased bowl or just grease your mixer’s bowl and cover with plastic or a cloth napkin, set in a warm place and let rise for about 1 hour. At this time cook your bacon if you’re using any 🙂IMG_3023
  4. Once your dough has risen, punch it! to get even little balls of dough I weigh out my total dough and then divide by the amount of kolaches you want to make. mine usually end up being about 2.5 oz each so about 16 kolaches per recipe. Pre-heat oven to 375.
  5. Once shaped into little balls flatten to little disks and add your filling, here I add cheese and bacon or mini cocktail weenies. Wrap into little ball, pinch bottom shut and lay seam on baking sheet brush on egg-wash and bake for 25-30 min rotating halfway.

     

Yum!

 

-S

Leave a Reply

