Leftover Pumpkin Dog Treats

20151201_190040

Welcome back! So I’ll be taking over the blog for a couple of posts while my better half recovers from having family visit her for the Thanksgiving holiday, don’t worry she will be back soon and with awesome holiday recipes. While I don’t have many recipes of what to do with your leftovers, because I’m one of the lucky ones who doesn’t really have any. I do have one for leftover pumpkin puree which I always end up having at the end of the season, and since I’m all pied out (I know how did that happen…gasp!) and I have a couple of leftover ingredients from the rest of the year, making these true leftover treats. I decided to make something for my sweetie pies.

 

Ingredients

  • 1/2 Cup of Pumpkin Puree (The 100% natural no flavoring)
  • 2 Tbsp of Peanut Butter
  • 1 Tbsp of Honey
  • 1 tsp of Cinnamon
  • 1 Cup of Whole Wheat Flour + 2 Tbsp for rolling

Instructions

  1. Heat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium size mixing bowl put in all your ingredients (no fuss no muss) With a wooden spoon mix until it resembles a dry crumbly mixture. Once it looks like big clumps of flour use your hand and knead until it holds together, it will look very shiny.
  2. Make a disk and roll out about 1/2-inch thick use any cookie cutter you have or like (I used a bone, little car, and donkey cutter, the donkey cutter makes a lot more since its small)
  3. Place on un-greased baking sheet about 1 finger apart in spacing, these cookies do not expand so you can put them as close as you would like without crowding your sheet. Bake for 20-25 minutes or until they become fragrant and bottoms are browned. Place on rack to cool and give to puppies 🙂

I ended up making about 4 batches since I was trying to get rid of all the puree, which is awesome because I have enough for my dogs and some to share with a new buddy of mine.

20151201_190337Hope your canine friends enjoy them as much as mine do.

 

-S

Leave a Reply

