Aarón Sánchez is a god.

This past weekend the husband and I hosted our first poker night. We had thrown the idea around with some friends at weekly trivia, and it took, so we made it happen. Figuring that it would be easiest to put together a self-serve bar of food, we decided on the ever-faithful nacho bar. Knowing that there would be a nacho bar at the end of the week gave me something to live for. Just kidding. There’s always pie throughout the week. In an attempt to keep the meal themed, I wanted to bake a Mexican spice cake, but the last time I did this, I felt the cake was a bit too dry. I really didn’t want that happen to again. I also wanted something relatively easy because I knew we would be busy cooking the items for the nacho bar, so I ruled out things like churros and sopapillas. Ruling those two things out was challenging because my love for them runs so so deep. I decided on one of Aarón Sánchez’s recipes: Mexican Chocolate Pudding Cake. Doesn’t everything about that sound downright magical!? I found a short video of him making it (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IRjsRMaO52Y&feature=youtu.be), and I was sold. It looked just so easy!

The video gives step-by-step instructions, and the cake really is as easy as it looked. It took about ten minutes to get together, and it cooked perfectly in the 35 minutes that he suggests.

Recipe:

1 cup all-purpose flour

½ cup light brown sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa

1 teaspoon canela

1 teaspoon baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ cup buttermilk

¼ cup butter, melted

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 cup chocolate chips

Topping

¾ cup light brown sugar

¼ cup cocoa

1 teaspoon canela

1¾ cups boiling water

Preheat oven to 350 and butter a cake pan. Mix together all of the dry ingredients into a bowl and then pour in butter, buttermilk, vanilla, and choco chips. Note: I doubled the amount of cinnamon because I wasn’t using canela. In his video he says to use canela or double cinnamon, but in his list of ingredients at the end it calls for 1 tsp of cinnamon. I doubled the cinnamon in both the batter and the topping, and I wouldn’t change it!

Tip: I never have buttermilk on hand, and if I were to buy it, it would go to waste. For each cup of buttermilk your recipe calls for, measure 1 cup of milk and add in a tablespoon of white vinegar. Let sit for five minutes before you add to your other ingredients. This has never failed me.

IMG_1781

Pour the contents of your mixing bowl into the buttered pan.

IMG_1782

Now pour the dry topping ingredients into the bowl you have already used, and mix together. Mix in the boiling water, and pour out all of the delicious chocolatey sauce over your cake. This part frightened me. The topping feels like so much liquid, but just do it. I reserved about half of a cup of the liquid, but in retrospect I think that adding the full amount would have been just fine. Moral= always trust Aarón Sánchez.

IMG_1784

Bake for 35 minutes, and voila. Isn’t it beautiful? You can see the sauce/pudding bubbling up on the sides.

IMG_1786

Serve warm! I served with whipped cream– just a couple of cups of cream, 1/4 cup of confectioners sugar, and a tsp or so of vanilla all whipped up. Make your own cream. It is always better. ALWAYS. And it’s so easy, so why not?

IMG_1791

I was really impressed with how rich this cake turned out. Though I was fearful of the amount of liquid, the cake was rich, and the liquid turned into this decadent sauce. The amount of cinnamon was just right and really came through in every bite, which is something that I love! Everyone else seemed to really like it. All the plates were cleared, a few people noted how good it was, and several even asked about the recipe. So, this one gets added to the recipe book! Easy, flavorful, and quite decadent. Success!

-J

Leave a Reply

