Hi everyone, I am the other half of this labor of love. When one of my best friends moved away with her wonderful husband it became hard to keep in contact; school, and work always seemed to take over our schedules and we decided we had to do something. As it turns out we are not only friends because we know each other for over a decade but because we also both love, love, LOVE food: cooking it, looking at it and most of all eating it. At that point this wonderful idea came about and so here we go from Greenville to Houston…

I am currently training to run the Chevron Marathon in 2017… so this brings about a couple of dietary changes. I have completely cut out bread and wheat pastas and pretty much anything gluten from my diet. (I am not celiac, nor do I have a sensitivity to it) I just realized the first time I trained for the half I was gluten free and had a much easier time training. I have found a couple of recipes that I will be sharing with my own little twist since I cook for people with very particular tastes. I will also post links or copies of the original recipe just in case.

Mongolian Beef:

Originally from http://iowagirleats.com/2015/09/23/mongolian-beef-noodle-bowls/

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz. gluten-free rice noodles ( I like vermicelli but there are thicker noodles if desired)
  • 1/2 cup of low sodium gluten-free soy sauce (Kikkoman and Tamari seem to be 2 of the most popular please check labels)
  • 1/3 cup of brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • red chili pepper flakes to taste ( I made mine pretty spicy and it was so worth it)
  • 2 Tbsp. of cooking oil
  • 1 lb of sirloin steak sliced thin against the grain (it uses flank but I could not find any and was in a hurry and I love sirloin)
  • Knorr Suiza (chicken or beef flavor, this will replace the salt and pepper)
  • 5 green onions chopped
  • 3 cups of coleslaw mix ( I always have cabbage and carrots so I made my own see below)
  • grated ginger (not a big fan so I just do about 1/4 tsp)
  • 3 garlic cloves

IMG_2432

 

Directions:

  1. Pre-soak your rice noodles, following the directions on the package, if it doesn’t have any vermicelli doesn’t take long just soak for about 3 min in hot water, the nests will start to come apart. While this is happening in a measuring cup or small bowl mix your dressing (soy sauce, sugar, water, and chili flakes) and set aside.
  2. In a non-stick pan or wok (which I no longer have) heat up 1/2 Tbsp of oil make sure it starts to look wavy (you will use most of your oil in this process, add as necessary) and add pieces of meat and brown, it took me about 3 batches so I wouldn’t overcrowd my pan and start steaming. Allow beef to form a crust and then turn, do this until all your beef is browned. Remove from pan and set aside.                                                                                                                                                                                    IMG_2433 (1)IMG_2434 (2)

  3. Using the remaining 1/2 Tbsp of oil add the onions and coleslaw mix, stir fry until mix begins to wilt about 1-2 minutes add your ginger and garlic and stir fry for 30 seconds more.                                IMG_2436 (2)
  4. Add your drained noodles and dressing to pan if you have any brown bits from your meat left over this would be the time to scrape all that yummy-ness off the bottom mix for about 3 minutes just until noodles are tender and covered in sauce, at this point you can start plating. Remove from pan and toss in meat to heat up and cover in sauce pour over noodles and voila! Garnish with green onions if desired. I did not think ahead and added all of mine into dish but it was worth it.

 

IMG_2438 (2)
Yummy Mongolian Beef Noodle Bowl Excuse the crappy iphone camera but it will have to do for now

 

 

***If you want to make your own coleslaw mix its pretty easy

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 head of medium purple cabbage
  • 1/4 head of medium green cabbage
  • 3 carrots

Directions:

Using the grating blade on food processor add the cabbage pieces and carrots in sizes that the processor will take and you will have an easy coleslaw mix.***

 

 

IMG_2428

 

My sister who is one of the pickiest eaters I know, I always joke she eats like a 5 yr. old,  loved this dish so I hope its a big hit in your kitchen, and don’t be concerned with making it perfect I usually take the recipe as an outline and add or take out things that I know would not fly in my house. Next time I make this dish I will be adding more veggies since I believe it would go good with some mushrooms, broccoli and bell peppers.

-S

Leave a Reply

